Patrol Bureau

The Patrol Division is the Uniform Patrol Section which is responsible for patrolling in marked police vehicles, responding to all incidents requiring police service, enforcing the law, initiating criminal investigations, preserving the peace, investigating traffic accidents, enforcing traffic/truck laws and overseeing special events.

The Patrol Division has 4 Commanders, 4 Sergeants, and 28 Patrol Officers assigned to one of 2 shifts broken down to 4 watches. In addition to their patrol duties officers are assigned to evidence technicians, Bicycle Officer, Range Officer, the multi-jurisdictional NIPAS Emergency Services Team and the NIPAS Mobile Field Force. The assignment of these officers requires specialized training, a desire to work within their specific fields of expertise and the ability to work independently with minimal supervision.